christmas DIY Food Uncategorized

Gifts from the kitchen – last minute

No gifts yet? Put yourself into the kitchen!

Gifts from our kitchen have become a tradition by now – they almost gained the status: classics. Whoever is still behind or wants to give something extra, ride along, I got something for everyone. Sweet or savory, quick and easy, you name it!

 

Bacon-salt

Let me start with the bacon-salt. Personally I love different kind of salts in all kind of variations, that’s why a new combination is on my kitchen classic gift list almost every year. Last year we made some pomegranade-salt – refreshingly different in taste and great in colour! This year I chose something rustic and really savory: bacon-salt added to fried potatoes, salads, soups…. really gives this hearty note to it. So for you vegetarians or vegans, just skip this one and scroll on down to the next recipe….

Bacon Salz

Bacon-salt

  • 300 g bacon
  • 400 g coarse sea-salt (finest quality)

Prepare the bacon on the BBQ (friends of winter-BBQ), in a pan, in the oven or even in the microwave until its completely dry and crisp. You can use some paper towels to soak up the last bit of fluid (fat). Add the bacon and the salt in a blender / food processor and blend it. I used little glass tubes with a lid as a gift size. Fill it and you’re all set!

 

Almonds – sweet or salty, the perfect little snack

Movie-classics and emotional tearjerkers are on the TV-program – there is a need for some snacks! So why not pimp a pack of almonds both sweet and also salty, pack them in little bags and have them as a tiny thoughtfulness ready for anybody in need for some soulfood. They are a great energizer if you run out of energy while wrapping all those presents…

Schokomandel -Geschenke aus der Küche

Chocolate almonds

  • 400 g almonds
  • 100 g milk chocolate
  • 100 g dark chocolate
  • Zartbitterschokolade
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 200 g powdered sugar

Spread the almonds on a baking tray, sprinkle with 2 tbs powdered sugar and roast them in the preheated oven for approx. 20 minutes at 180°C until they turn golden. They should start spreading a beautiful scent. Meanwhile melt the chocolate in a bain-marie, add the cinnamon and the inside of the vanilla bean. Put the almonds in a sealable bowl (with a lid), pour the chocolate over the almonds, close the lid and shake thoroughly. After all the almonds are covered with chocolate, add the powdered sugar and shake again until everything is evenly spread.

Again, variations are possible – e. g. using German lebkuchen-spice in addition or simply use chocolate induced with chili to cover the almonds…

Chili-Rosmarinmandeln

Rosemary-chili-almonds

  • 400 g almonds
  • 1 egg white (big)
  • 1 tsp coarse salt (why not use the freshly made bacon salt?)
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 -2 tbs freshly chopped rosemary
  • 1 tsp chili-flakes

Spread the almonds on a baking tray and roast them in the preheated oven for approx. 20 minutes at 180°C until they turn golden and start spreading a tasty smell. Beat the egg white (roughly only – it musn’t turn white and stiff) and add the spices. Mix the almonds with the egg-white-spice-mix and shake them up. Back into the oven for another 15 minutes – tasty!

 

For sweet teeth and everybody who is in a big hurry

There is hardly a faster treat than cinnamon-chili-pretzels or without the chili for the kids. I can guarantee you that your home will be instantly filled with a typically Christmassy scent and the taste is really really great!

Zimtbrezeln - Geschenke aus der Küche Zimtbrezeln

Cinnamon-chili-pretzels

  • 250 g miniature salted pretzels
  • 1 egg white (big)
  • 200 g sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp chili-flakes

Preheat the oven to 160°C. Beat the egg white without it turning stiff. Mix up cinnamon, chili and sugar and add it to the egg white. Place the pretzels in a sealable bowl and pour the egg white sugar mix over it. Close the lid and carefully shake it so that the pretzels won’t break. Prepare two baking trays with baking paper and spread out the pretzels. Bake for approx. 20 minutes and occasionally change the position of the baking trays for an even roasting.

I skip the chili for the children :-)

 

 

A two-person treat that warms you up from the inside – quick and easy lentil-soup

Get some transparent bags, let your children do some weighing :-) or simply keep control put on some christmas tunes, hum along and get started yourself… You won’t think so at first but this lentil dish is quite versatile. You can serve it as a simple soup for two people or pimp it with some vegetables and rice for it tobecome a main course. It’s tasty in an any case and also quickly prepared!

Linsensuppe in der Tüte Linsensuppe

Lentil-curry-soup

  • 150 g red lentils
  • 30 g coco flakes
  • 1,5 tbs curry powder
  • 1 star anis
  • 3 cardamom capsules
  • some chili-threads

Put layer for layer in the transparent bags and tie a little manual “how to prepare the meal” around it…

Finely dice 1 schallot and roast in a pan with some olive oil. Add the entire content of your bag and briefly roast everything before adding 3/4 liters of vegetable broth.

Let it simmer for 15 minutes and remove the star anis and the cardamom capsules. Season to taste with some orange juice and freshly ground pepper.

 

So, in case you need some more giveaways feel free to get started! Gifts from the kitchen are always welcome and the usually come from the heart and are obviously made with aloha! Enjoy and remember how much fun it is to present presents, to give gifts, to give…

0 comments on “Gifts from the kitchen – last minute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:

DIY Essen Weihnachten

Geschenke aus der Küche – Last minute

Bacon Salz

Noch kein Geschenk? Ab in die Küche!

Geschenke aus der Küche sind wahre Klassiker geworden. Und wer noch keine hat, kann hier jetzt noch ganz schnell auf den Zug aufspringen! Herzhaft oder süß, ganz schnell oder mit etwas Muse – ich habe für Euch alle etwas!

 

Bacon-Salz

Den Anfang macht Bacon Salz. Ich persönlich liebe ja Salz in allen Variationen und darum gibt es fast jedes Jahr eine neue Version zum Probieren. Letztes Jahr haben wir Granatapfelsalz gemacht, herrlich pink und erfrischend im Geschmack. Dieses Jahr gibt es etwas zünftiges: mit Bacon aromatisiertes Salz verfeinert Bratkartoffeln, Salate, Suppen… Ok, für die Vegetarier und Veganer unter Euch ist das nix, schnell ein Rezept weiter scrollen…

Bacon Salz

Bacon-Salz

  • 300 g Bacon
  • 400g grobes Meersalz bester Qualität

Den Bacon auf dem Grill (für Freunde des Wintergrillens), in der Pfanne oder auch in der Mikrowelle komplett auslassen. Das heißt, der Bacon muss trocken und knusprig sein. Dafür legt ihr ihn am Besten zwischendurch immer mal wieder auf Küchenkrepp. Mit dem Salz zusammen in einen Mixer, Food Processor oder mit dem Zauberstab zerkleinern und in kleine Gläschen abfüllen. Fertig!

 

Mandeln – süß und salzig, der perfekte Knabberspaß

Das Fernweh Programm ist voller Schnulzen und Filmklassiker – da darf etwas zum Knabbern nicht fehlen! Perfekt einen großen Schwung Mandeln zu verfeinern und zwar süß und salzig und die Mandeln in kleine Tütchen zu verpacken. Die kann man herrlich als klitzekleine Aufmerksamkeit verschenken. Sie wirken nämlich auch als ganz schneller Energielieferant, wenn einem beim Geschenke einpacken mal die Puste ausgeht!

Schokomandel -Geschenke aus der Küche

Schokomandeln

  • 400 g Mandeln
  • 100 g Vollmilchschokolade
  • 100 g Zartbitterschokolade
  • 2 Teelöffel Zimt
  • 1 Vanilleschote
  • 200 g Puderzucker

Die Mandeln auf ein Blech geben, mit 2 EL Puderzucker bestreuen und im vorgeheizten Ofen bei 180°C ca. 20 Minuten goldgelb rösten. Sie sollten anfangen lecker zu duften, dann sind sie genau richtig. In der Zwischenzeit die Schokolade über dem Wasserbad schmelzen, Zimt und das ausgekratzte Mark einer Vanilleschote dazu geben. Die Mandel in eine verschließbare Schüssel geben, Schokolade darüber geben und kräftig schütteln. Sind alle Mandeln mit Schokolade überzogen kommt der Puderzucker in die Schüssel. Deckel wieder drauf und noch einmal kräftig schütteln bis alle Mandeln schön eingepudert sind.

Hier könnt ihr euch wieder in allerlei Variationen spielen. Zum Beispiel könntet ihr Lebkuchengewürz nutzen, oder die Mandeln in Chilischokolade wälzen…

 

Chili-Rosmarinmandeln

Rosmarin-Chili-Mandeln

  • 400 g Mandeln
  • 1 großes Eiweiß
  • 1 TL grobes Salz (gerne auch aromatisiert, wie z.B. das Bacon Salz)
  • 1 TL brauner Zucker
  • 1 -2 EL gehackter, frischer Rosmarin (zur Not geht auch getrockneter)
  • 1 TL Chiliflocken

Mandeln im vorgeheizten Ofen bei 180°C in 15 -20 Minuten goldbraun rösten. Auch hier, sobald es zu duften beginnt sind sie perfekt. In der Zwischenzeit das Eiweiß grob aufschlagen (es soll kein Eischnee entstehen), die Gewürze dazu geben. Die gerösteten Mandeln zu der Eiweiß-Gewürz-Mischung geben, gut verrühren (oder schütteln, siehe Rezept oben) und weitere 15 Minuten im Ofen rösten. Köstlich!

 

Für Naschkatzen und ganz Eilige

Schneller als Zimt -Chili-Brezeln oder auch nur Zimt-Brezeln für die kids geht es nicht. Ich garantiere Euch, sie schmecken herrlich, die Wohnung duftet binnen Kurzem so weihnachtlich wie es nur geht und das Ergebnis gibt was her!

Zimtbrezeln - Geschenke aus der Küche Zimtbrezeln

Zimt-Chili-Brezeln

  • 250 g Salzbrezeln
  • 1 großes Eiweiß
  • 200 g Zucker
  • 2 TL Zimt
  • 1 TL Chiliflocken

Den Ofen auf 160°C Ober-und Unterhitze vorheizen. Das Eiweiß aufschlagen, auch hier sollte kein Eischnee entstehen. Zucker und Zimt vermischen und zu dem Eiweiß geben. Die Brezeln in eine verschließbare Schüssel geben, Eiweiß-Gewürz-Mischung darüber geben und vorsichtig schütteln. 2 Backbleche mit Backpapier auslegen und die Brezeln darauf verteilen. Ca. 20 Minuten im Ofen knusprig backen, dabei hin und wieder die Blechposition wechseln.

Für Kinder lasse ich das Chili weg :-)

Etwas wärmendes für Zwei – das Linsen-Süppchen

Tüten her, Zutaten bereit Stelen und die Kinder abwiegen lassen :-). Oder selbst die Kontrolle behalten und es zu Weihnachtsmusik summend selber machen… Man glaubt es nicht, aber dieses Linsengericht ist vielseitig. Als Püppchen für zwei Personen, oder gepimpt mit Gemüse und Reis dazu ein etwas größeres Gericht. Lecker ist es auf alle Fälle und schnell zubereitet auch!

Linsensuppe in der Tüte Linsensuppe

Linsens-Süppchen mit Curry

  • 150 g rote Linsen
  • 30 g Kokosflocken
  • 1,5 EL Curry
  • 1 Sternanis
  • 3 Kardamomkapseln
  • einige Chilifäden

Alles in einer Tüte aufschichten und ein kleines Schildchen mit der Anleitung drumbinden…

1 Schalotte fein würfeln und in etwas Öl anschwitzen. Den Beutel Inhalt dazu geben, kurz mit anrösten und mit einem 3/4 Liter Gemüsebrühe aufgießen.

15 Minuten köcheln lassen, den Sternanis und Kardamom entfernen und mit etwas Orangensaft und Pfeffer abschmecken.

 

Also, wer noch kleine Mitbringsel braucht kann jetzt los legen! Denn die Geschenke aus der Küche kommen immer gut an. Viel Freude damit, schenken macht solchen Spaß!

 

 

 

0 Kommentare zu “Geschenke aus der Küche – Last minute

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: